Marian Awards For Excellence

At St. Mary's Academy, we take pride in our alumnae and friends who model excellence and service in their personal and professional lives.

The Marian Awards For Excellence were instituted by the Academy in 2005 to recognize distinguished alumnae who embrace and exemplify our mission and vision in the community and the world. Our seven member selection committee, made up of alumnae, SNJM leadership, staff, and friends of the Academy, were thrilled with the response of our community in the strength and number of nominations received. We proudly announce the following Marian Award For Excellence recipients being recognized for their outstanding service in the areas of Education, Training and Mentorship, Leadership, Marketing and Justice.

2018 Marian Awards For Excellence Recipients


Dr. Diane Clare ’69

Diane has a committed interest in professional health care education, and maximizing the well-being of women and children, specifically in providing quality nursing education to rural education centres. She attributes the lessons and care she received at St. Mary’s Academy in her adolescent years as shaping her career in the service of others.

Cheryl Prokopanko (Balaberda ’72)

Cheryl has made exceptional contributions in the field of education in Manitoba, especially in incorporating technology and regulating international education. Throughout her professional life, Cheryl has been a strong example of the mission, vision, and values of St. Mary’s Academy, as a thoughtful, caring, and innovative educator and leader.

Brigitte Sandron
(Van Ginkel ’77)

Brigitte is a recognized leader and marketing executive in the field of Tourism. Brigitte is an outstanding role model of St. Mary’s Academy, using her leadership abilities to serve our Province and many community boards of directors and foundations.

Melissa Serbin ’01

Young Alumna Recipient At 34 years of age, Melissa is a Crown Attorney who has advanced the rule of law through her advocacy, teaching and commitment to furthering legal education. She embodies what it means to Hold High The Torch in her commitment to balancing a lifestyle of academia, leadership and social responsibility.

14th Annual Marian Awards For Excellence Brunch

Saturday, May 12, 2018
Mimosa Reception at 10:00 a.m. | Brunch at 10:30 a.m. | Award Presentations Following Brunch
The Gates on Roblin, 6945 Roblin Boulevard
Master of Ceremonies: Dr. Leisha Strachan ’92, Marian Award Recipient in 2013

Click here to see photos from the 2018 Marian Awards.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Thank you to our 2018 Marian Awards sponsors!  Your support of this event helps St. Mary's Academy recognize and honour distinguished alumnae who embrace and exemplify our mission and vision in the community and the world. Six levels of sponsorship are available, click here to review our Sponsorship Package. If you have questions, please contact Kerri Moore, Advancement and Special Events Coordinator at or 204-478-6031.

Presenting Sponsor

Flame Sponsor

Mimosa Sponsor

Tartan Sponsor

Award Sponsor

Nun Fudge Sponsor

Dessert Sponsor

Spark Sponsor

Past Marian Award Recipients


The Class of 1965


Marylyn Gibney, SNJM

Susanne Parent '81


Gwen Buccini (Pucci ’67)

Marianna Carol Hryniuk-Adamov ’72


Leanne Boyd '69

Kellie O'Rourke '76


Dr. Leisha Strachan ’92

Janine Stephens (Hanson ’01)


Crystal Kolt (Klapecki '78)

R.H. (Bob) Vandewater


Barbara Clubb '65

Ann Hodges '82


Christine Butterill (Keegan '60)

Susan Devine '68


Kimberly Prost '76


Stella Jo Dean (Kozak '43)

Joan Harland (Gr. 11 '32 and SMA College '33)

Rekha Malaviya '83

Alaina Prokopchuk '98


Noelle Bowles '91

Mary Holmen (Whytehead '71)

Rev. Carol Fletcher '79

Carol Stone (Parson '62)


Margaret Brett (Hetke '65)

Pattie Moore (Delabbio '69)

William and Stella English and family


Eira Friesen (Charles '36)

Lesley Sacouman, SNJM '63

SMA Alumnae Association

SMA Parents’ Guild